{//% unless portal.user.is_agent %} Tickets
Welcome
Login Submit a Ticket News {//% endunless %}

Roster Revision Concept

        


Roster periods can vary in length depending on each airline. Typical roster periods can be 7 days, 2 weeks or a month.
 
 
Roster periods have either status: ‘Published’ or ‘Unpublished’. 
 
 
 
 

Unpublished Roster

 
If the roster has not yet been published, the crew planner may modify the crew roster without the need to inform the crew. 
 
Any changes made in an unpublished roster are shown as a small white box on the roster activities as shown below:
 
 
 
 

To publish a roster period

 
When the crew planner is ready to publish a crew roster, He or she clicks on the Roster Wizard icon located in the middle of the roster Gantt:
 
 
 
Click on Roster Release and select the roster period you want to publish.
 
Click on Next.
 
 
Click on ‘Release’
 
 
Click on refresh to reload the roster Gantt as a Published roster. 
 
 
The roster is now published.
 
Note: Depending on the way N-OC is set up, this may trigger notification emails and/or text messages to be sent out to the crew. 
 
For more information, please see: Factories > Automation > Events
 
 
 

Published Rosters

 
Once the roster has been published and made available to the crew, any changes made to the original published roster need to be tracked, notified to crew, and confirmed by crew. These changes are known as: ‘Revisions’
 
Below, we will take a look at how N-OC functions for revisions in a published roster period.
 
 
 

Revision Statuses in a Published Crew Roster

 
In the Crew Roster Gantt, any changes made to a published roster are shown as small square block on the modified activity as shown below. There are three different status colours:
 
Red              = Saved as status ‘Unactioned’ 
- the crew have not been notified of the revision.
Purple          = Saved as status ‘Briefed’ 
- the crew will be informed of the revision at the date/time set by the crew planner when the revision was saved. 
Yellow          = Saved as status ‘Notified’ 
- After the crew planner has saved, the crew are informed immediately of the revision.
Confirmed   = Saved as status ‘Confirmed’. 
- No further action is required. MyRoster is updated and there are no coloured boxes on the activities in the Roster Gantt. 
 
 
 
 

Red      = Saved as status ‘Unactioned’ 

 
When the crew planner modifies the crew roster, (but has not yet saved), the revision is shown with a red status box on the affected activity or activities. There is also a red status box on the left in the crew name window - ‘mouse- over’ this red box to see more details of the revision.  See below: 
 
 
When the user saves the revisions   and selects “Save as unactioned” the red boxes remain displayed on the activities as a reminder that they are 'unhandled'. This means that the changes have been saved in N-OC but the crew have not been informed.
 
No information is sent to the crew about the revision. The red box will remain until the date and time that the event occurs. At that time, the calendar in MyRoster (available to each crew member) is also updated.
 
Note: These unactioned revisions can be displayed and sent out as Briefed or Notified from the Roster Wizard – see “Roster Wizard” further down in this document. ‘
 
 
 
If the crew planner has briefed the crew-member verbally and the revision is confirmed, the crew planner can easily change the status of the revision from ‘unhandled’ ‘Notified’ or ‘Briefed’ to ‘Confirmed.’
 
 
 
To do this, right-click on the red, purple or yellow square on the activity and confirm by clicking on the icon. 
 
 
 
 
 
This clears the square and the crew’s roster is updated with the revision. The revision is now confirmed and no further action is needed. 
 
 
If the crew planner wants to confirm more than one crew with revisions, this can be done from the Roster wizard
 
 
 

Roster Wizard

 
To open the Roster Wizard, click on the icon in the roster Gantt.
 
 
  • The ’Revision’ menu auto opens.
  • On the left side are three boxes with red, purple and yellow squares.
  • Click on the text (eg "Unhandled") to expand.
  • Click on the date under the heading: 'Created'.
 
 
The list of unhandled revisions is displayed inside the red frame. 
 
To notify brief or confirm these revisions, the crew planner can select them on the left tick boxes and uses the ‘Notifydate’ or ‘Confirmdate’ options + Save. 
 
For more information about these, see below.
 
 
 
 
When you change the status from Unhandled to either: Notified, Briefed or Confirmed, the revisions are removed from the ‘Unhandled’ Transactions section, the red boxes disappear in the Roster Gantt and Myroster Calendar is also updated.
 
 
 

Purple      = Saved as status ‘Briefed’ at a given date/time.

When the user saves the revisions   and selects ‘Revision’ (below), a dialogue window opens:
 
 
 
 
 
If the crew planner does not want to send out a revision notification yet, he/she can choose to brief a crew member at a specified date/time.
 
Select ‘NotifyDate’ and enter the required Date and Time. This means that the crew-member will only receive revision notification at this date/time and not before. The revision will also not be displayed in MyRoster until then. 
 
 
When the crew planner uses this option the revisions are displayed with purple boxes on the activities. 
 
 
 

Yellow      = Saved as status ‘Notified’

 
Notification works in a similar way to the Briefed option. 
 
·     To notify a crew member of a revision immediately, select today’s date in ‘NotifyDate’ field and delete the time. (Note: The date for sending out notification defaults to today’s date).
·     Click Apply, then Save
·     This means that the crew-member will receive a revision notification immediately and this revision is displayed in MyRoster pending the crew’s confirmation. 
·     This assumes of course that the change is a time in the future so the crew has time to look at their roster and approve the change.
 
 
 
When the crew planner uses this option the revisions are displayed with yellow boxes on the activities. 
 
 
 
 

Confirmed   = Saved status as ‘Confirmed’. 

 
When the user saves the revisions   and selects ‘Revision’ and 'ConfirmDate' + Save
 
This clears all revision boxes and the crew’s roster (MyRoster) is updated with the revision. 
 
The revision is now confirmed and no further action is needed. 
 
 
 

MyRoster - N-OC Cloud (Web)

 
This is how it looks in the crew member’s MyRoster for notified revisions that are pending crew confirmation. 
 
When the crew click on the burgundy coloured box, the detailed information is displayed on the right.
 
The crew member  may then click on the 'Confirm' button to approve the change(s). 
 
This information is then updated in the Roster Gantt so that the crew planner can see that the revision is confirmed (the purple/yellow boxes are removed from the revised activities).
 
Notice that the rest of the calendar is grey out, thus preventing the crew member to check the rest of his roster until he has confirmed his revision.
 
When the crew member clicks on Confirm, the rest of the Calendar becomes visible and available. (This functionality is optional).
 
 
 
 
  

N-OC Fire (Mobile)

 
The functionality is very similar in Radio Fire - the mobile solution. This is how it looks in mobiles.
 
 
 
 

Roster Gantt - Revision window

 
 
The crew planner can see a history of all revisions made for each crew member. Right click on a crew and select Revi.
 
 
 
 
 
In the 'User' and 'Confirmed' columns the user can mouse over to see more details, see below:
 
 
 
 
 

Related Topics:

Editors > Calendar > Period Rules

Editors > Calendar > Periods

                

                                                    

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.